2012-Looking Forwards

Rather than looking back over the past year (which I can entirely remember) I thought we’d look ahead forward into next year and beyond:

Warhammer 40,000 6th Edition:

After the brilliance of Fantasy 8th edition, 40k is going to have a truly great next year. By the look of it (judging by WHFB 8th), the book should be in colour, have a slightly revised or better explained background, and a more complex, but far better rule set.

Like the difference between 7th and 8th, 6th edition 40k should have some big changes. For a start, rumour has it that the FOC is either going to change, or be replaced by a percentage system. I would like this a lot. It would add more diversity to the game and allow armies that people haven’t thought of to happen. However, this may also lean towards more broken lists, for example, a lot more Thundercav, but I hope not.

Either way, a re-vamp of 40k would be very good for a game that these days is getting quite predictable.

Overall Thoughts: 10/10

Tau 5th Edition:

Very exited to hear this. I have always liked the look of the Tau (as weird as that may sound), but their Codex is a bit, lacklustre. The troops choices are substandard, as are the HQ choices (see, the Space Pope). From what I’ve heard, we’re talking Kroot HQs, more Vespid options, and the Demiurg leaving Battlefleet Gothic and entering the world of Warhammer 40,000 proper.

This is a codex I’d like to see Phill Kelly write, as I’ve always thought that the play style of the Tau is Eldaresque. The book needs a smooth flowing feel to it, and that’s what we’ve got Mr. Kelly for.

Overall Thoughts: 7.5/10

Chaos Legions:

This particular rumour made me punch the air and shout ‘yes!’ I have always wanted to play Chaos Marines of some form, but their current Codex is, again a bit lacklustre. The reports I’ve heard of this are that the book will be somewhat like Vanilla Marines 4th ed, in that you can take an upgrade your army to be one of the different traitor legions, and this will have different affects.

The only slight dissatisfaction I have is that this will not (according to the rumours) replace the current CSM codex, meaning that we will end up with two CSM book, Legions (which everyone will switch to) and Marines (which will by this point be redundant) which no-one will play.

One thing I have heard (that made me happy, but other upset) is that Mat Ward is reported to be writing the Codex. This is something I’m looking forwards to. Mr Ward is a crazy person, who writes crazy book. A warped, crazy Marine, who is oozing/glowing/berserkerising(?)/[censored by Inquisitorial mandate] is about as crazy as you can get. Therefore, Mr Ward is the perfect man is write this book.

Overall Thoughts:8/10

Black Templars 5th Edition:

This is apparently the next book. And considering that I hadn’t noticed the rumours, I feel like a bit of a plonker.

This is why I want to play these guys

Firstly, Phil Kelly is writing it! That is a brilliant thing, as, like the Space Wolves, the Templars need to be given a better flow, and not so much crazy things written into them. We’ve hearing about decent Sword Brethren, a special character Emperor’s Champion, Land Raiders that go berserk when destroyed, and, best of all, bikers become mounted Knights. This sounds like the greatest book ever written.

I think I’m gonna have to buy this one.

Overall Thoughts: 9.5/10

Empire 8th Edition:

This book slightly confused me. The Dwarves, Bretonians and Wood Elves surely need a new book more than the Empire. However, it seems that the new book should be a good one.

An Example of a Demigryph Knight from Warhammer Forge

We’ve hearing about a large War Altar/MASSIVE CANNON and Demigryph (such as Theodore Bruckner), as well as War Priests for more gods. This would add more variety into the book. However, I don’t think the Empire really needs it. There are books that are in much more dire need of an update.

Overall Thoughts: 6.5/10

Dark Millennium Online:

Warhammer online is a popular game, both with players of WHFB and ‘normal’ people. THQ and Games Workshop aren’t fools (are hard as that may be to believe) and so Dark Millennium is being released. All we know of it is that you can play as the Imperium and Chaos, and you might be able to drive/pilot a Titan as a co-operative effort (think, the larger fighters in Star Wars: Battlefront II).

http://www.darkmillenniumonline.com/

Overall Thoughts: I’ve not really got enough to go on, but I’ll go with 10/10

Guild Wars 2:

Really we know all about Guild Wars 2. I’ve never played it, but the amount of information they’ve but out means I could explain it to you very well.

My only gripe is that they seem to have done the opposite of GW. GW tells you about their new products at the last moment to generate hype. ArenaNet has been releasing huge amounts of information for years, so the hype has kind of died down. Fail.

Overall Thoughts: 9/10 (10/10 if they decide to release the damn thing)

Final Thoughts:

2012 is going to be truly brilliant year for gaming (unless you play WHFB, in which case it may suck a little), and I’m looking forwards to it a lot. The only draw back may be the amount of cool new armies coming out may mean that I spend all of 2012 stating armies. Oh well, totally worth it!

Have a Great New Year!

 

 

Leave a Reply

